Deception at the Taking of a Penalty Kick

In 2000, the International Board clarified its guideline regarding what the player taking a penalty kick may do to confuse or deceive the defending goalkeeper.  Most recently, the new “interpretations” section of the Law book states:

Feinting to take a penalty kick to confuse an opponent is permitted ….  However, if, in the opinion of the referee, the feinting is considered an act of unsporting behavior, the player must be cautioned.

In explaining its new stance in 2000, the International Board noted that various forms of deception are allowed at a free kick restart and, in many respects (including this one), a penalty kick is similar to a free kick.

 
Deception at the Taking of a Penalty Kick


  © Copyright 2015 New Jersey State Referee Committee. All rights reserved.  |  Contact Webmaster
  © Copyright 2015 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.
Youth Sports WebWriter Websites, Online Registration Management, Tournament and League Scheduling Systems